Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Writing New Zealand Waterways


New Zealand Waterways

The Water Cycle is a process that water goes through between land, sea and the atmosphere. There are 5 main stages in the Water Cycle, these include, Evaporation, Condensation, Precipitation, and Runoff/ Groundwater.


Evaporation is a process of the sun heating the water, and turning into a gas. In some hot countries, the Evaporation is greater. Evaporation is an invisible process, that changes water into a gas. The vapor that is in the air is called humidity. Some countries have a high amount of humidity. Once the water has turned into a gas, it floats up into the sky, and turns into clouds (Condensation.)

Condensation And Precipitation

Condensation and Precipitation are two of the main parts of the Water Cycle. Condensation plays a big part in the Water Cycle; this is the stage where the dust and water particles form clouds (Condensation.) You know how there is water on the windows in the morning when it is cold, this is a great example of Condensation.The next stage is where the rain (Precipitation) falls from the clouds. There are many different types of Precipitation, such as: Rain, Hail, Snow, and Sleet. When the Precipitation hits the ground, it is called Runoff, or Groundwater.

Runoff / Groundwater

This is the stage where the Precipitation hits the ground and becomes a Runoff, or Groundwater. Did you know that the water you you drink everyday is recycled Groundwater. So you know how it rains, that’s all recycled water, which means that the rain could have been the cup of water you drank last week!

Overall, the Water Cycle is one of the most important things on earth. Just remember that there are 5 main stages in the Water Cycle, Evaporation, Condensation, Precipitation, and Runoff / Groundwater. If we didn’t have clean, drinkable water… we would die.

By Monique

No comments:

Post a Comment